Three Against the Wilderness

A pathfinder in the world of conservation

Posted in Conservation by stewartjc on March 14, 2010

In 1959 Eric Collier published Three Against the Wilderness, a book based on the life he led – as a trapper – with his wife and son, in a remote part of Canada.

The Colliers’ home in the ‘wilderness’ © Wil Stewart

Eric Collier was ‘a man ahead of his time’, according to Andrew Anaka, Conservation Officer with the Ministry of Environment, based in Williams Lake, British Columbia in 2006.

[Click on the ‘play’ button to hear the interview clip below]

Image: © Photawa | Dreamstime.com

Find out more about the Canadian beaver.

Interesting information also here.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lissa Hunter said, on February 14, 2011 at 4:48 am

    Really enjoyed the book and Veasy’s honest comments about the facts. Glad to hear that Veasy has had an enjoyable life. My husband and I have done some camping and fishing close to Riske Creek and this is the reason I purchased the book in Victoria at Walmart, glad I did.

  2. Bev Guy said, on June 18, 2011 at 12:05 am

    I thought it was a great book, beautifully written, every chapter an arduous or exciting adventure written with sensitivity and love of the environment in which he and Lilly lived. It was also a love story, a partnership between two people who were both passionately involved, in the B.C. wilderness. Their successful struggle together is an inspiration.

    As an aside, I have recently discovered that Lilly was a first cousin once removed from her ancestral family in Cape Breton Island, N.S. as am I. From sea to sea.

  3. Raivis said, on January 20, 2012 at 12:03 pm

    This Collier’s book, which I read as a child hass influenced me and my future view on things. I can only express admiration for the author, who so truly will create a pristine of nature wonders. Book is still remembered and re-read by many people here in Latvia.

  4. Theodore Benton said, on February 5, 2012 at 5:26 am

    I’ve read a lot of books
    BUT this one has always stayed in my mind
    my Nana gave me a copy in 1973 I was 13 & I have read it & re read it.
    One day I would love to come to Canada & see all its beauty.
    Theodore Benton Adelaide Australia.

  5. debbieannbridge said, on August 23, 2014 at 11:59 pm

    I’ve just finished reading this book and just loved it! I’ve added it to my new blog which is about books I’m reviewing while I travel, so this is the second book so far and feel in love with it. You can check out my blog of the book here: http://theblooksicarry.wordpress.com/2014/08/23/three-against-the-wilderness/

    So pleased that Veasy was interviewed, will now go through the recordings you managed to get.


Leave a Reply

